I recently began trying to learn about Twitter. While social media networks such as Facebook and LinkedIn were fairly easy for me to pick up on, it took me a while to understand the purpose of Twitter.

My initial assumption was that Twitter was Facebook statuses only, used to update the world on the mundane activities of Joe Shmoe. No offense, Joe, but I am just not interested in a play-by-play of your boring life. After a bit of research, I learned that I was very much mistaken in my underestimation of the power of Tweeting.

The sharing of links has become an extremely popular method of spreading information, whether it is personal, news or business-related. When used properly, Twitter can be an amazing marketing and networking tool.

My favorite thing about Twitter is that it encourages brevity. As Shakespeare (and Mr. Kaufman, my high-school history teacher) said, “brevity is the soul of wit”. My absolute least favorite thing, on the other hand, is the obscene butchering of English grammar people use to stay within the character limit. I don’t think that’s what Shakespeare had in mind.

Hopefully I’ll get the hang of it and you’ll be able to follow me on Twitter in the near future…

